Australian Postal Numismatic Covers

2005 Australian Open $5 UNC

100th Anniversary of the Australian Open

This commemorative issue celebrates the Centenary of the Australian Open Tennis Championships. The Australian Open was established in 1905 as the Australasian Tennis Championships and played at the Warehousemen’s Cricket Ground in Albert Park, Melbourne.
The coin's reverse is stylised and depicts a male tennis player in mid-serve against a background showing center court with the Melbourne skyline just visible in the distance. After a fellow collector pointed it out to me and as the designer of the coin pointed out to him, the mans legs and arms form the silhouette of Australia. Quite obvious when pointed out but not often seen.
The obverse features Ian Rank-Broadley's effigy of Queen Elizabeth II, and the denomination of $5.

The competition was renamed the Australian Championships in 1927, eventually becoming the Australian Open in 1969, when all events were opened to professional players. Until 1972 the Championships were held at various locations around the country. In 1972 the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia (now Tennis Australia) decided the tournament needed a permanent site.The Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club in Melbourne was selected as the first permanent home of the Australian Open. During the 1980s the Australian Open became so popular that it outgrew the Kooyong facilities. The tournament moved to the multipurpose Flinders Park when it opened in January 1988. Following expansion in 1996, Flinders Park was renamed Melbourne Park. Centre court at Melbourne Park, which was named the Rod Laver Arena in 2000, is known worldwide for its retractable roof, a design innovation that allows play to continue regardless of the weather.

The card and coin come in a first day cover envelope with a line drawing of the Rod Laver Arena .
The stamps are canceled with the postmark :
First Day of Issue,11 January 2005 Melbourne GPO VIC 3000
The Uncirculated quality coin is mounted on a colour card depicting a tennis match being played in centre court at Melbourne Park, the Rod Laver Arena, which is the current venue of the Australian Open. The image with frosted background was crafted by Wojciech Pietranik, Engraver at the Royal Australian Mint.

The 50c stamp features an image of a stylised male tennis player against a background showing a tennis match being played at the Warehousemen’s Cricket Ground in Albert Park, Melbourne where the first tournament was staged in 1905. The $1.80 stamp features an image of a stylised female tennis player against a background showing a tennis match being played at Melbourne Park.

Nominal Specifications

Denomination: $5
Metal: Aluminium Bronze
Mass: 28.0 grams
Diameter: 38.74 mm
Reverse: Wojciech Pietranik
Obverse: Ian Rank-Broadley